Scroll Top


The Association was established in 1991 with the name Association for Water Pollution and Control of Slovenia. The founding meeting was held at Hidrotehnik d.d. at Slovenčeva ulica 97 in Ljubljana. The founding meeting was attended by Eugen Petrešin, Anton Andjelek, Radoslav Vodopivec, Jože Maver, Jože Crnič, Bernarda Podlipnik, Niko Antončič, Dragan Krajnc and some others.

After a few months, Milan Dular, Franc Malainer, and Milenko Roš joined the Association.

At the regular annual meeting of the Association, held on November 11, 1994, in Rogaška Slatina, a new statute was adopted, and a change of the name of the association into the Slovenian Association for Water Protection.

The first leadership of the Society consisted of:
Eugen Petrešin – President
Jože Maver – secretary
Dragan Krajnc – treasurer

All Presidents of the Society since 1991 to present:
Eugen Petrešin (1991 – 1995)
Milenko Roš (1995 – 2008)
Boris Kompare✝(2008 – 2014)
Milenko Roš 2014; substitute president
Marjetka Levstek (2014 – to present)

prof. dr. Eugen Petrešin

prof. dr. Milenko Roš

prof. dr. Boris Kompare

dr. Marjetka Levstek